Print Page    Close Window

Press Release

Greg Ives, Crew Chief for Dale Earnhardt Jr., Wins $100,000 MOOG® 'Problem Solver of the Year' Award

(Thomson Reuters ONE via COMTEX) -- 

Ives Tops NASCAR® Sprint Cup Crew Chiefs with 5 Weekly MOOG Wins; Will Receive Trophy and Check During December 3 Ceremony in Las Vegas

Southfield, Michigan, November 24, 2015.Greg Ives, crew chief for Dale Earnhardt Jr. and the No. 88 Nationwide Chevrolet SS, capped off an impressive first year with the 88 team by winning Federal-Mogul Motorparts' prestigious MOOG® "Problem Solver of the Year" Award. Ives clinched the award, which highlights the problem solving excellence of NASCAR® Sprint Cup crew chiefs, by winning five weekly MOOG awards during the 2015 season, which concluded with Sunday's Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami (Fla.) Speedway. MOOG is the Official Steering and Suspension of NASCAR. Federal-Mogul Motorparts is a division of Federal-Mogul Holdings Corporation (NASDAQ: FDML).

A native of Bark River, Mich., the 31-year-old Ives assumed crew chief duties for the Hendrick Motorsports team prior to the 2015 season. He began his NASCAR career with Hendrick in 2004 and contributed to Jimmie Johnson's string of five Sprint Cup titles from 2006 to 2010. He moved to JR Motorsports for the 2012 and 2013 seasons.

In his first year leading the 88 team, Ives won a series-best five MOOG Problem Solver of the Race awards, presented to the crew chief whose car posts the greatest second-half improvement in average lap time while finishing on the lead lap. Earnhardt and Ives won three races and delivered 16 top-five and 22 top-10 finishes while advancing to the Contender Round of the Chase for the Sprint Cup. Ives will receive his $100,000 Problem Solver of the Year check and a handcrafted MOOG ball joint trophy during the NMPA Myers Brothers Award Ceremony December 3 in Las Vegas.

Runner-up for the Problem Solver of the Year award, with four weekly MOOG wins, was Justin Alexander, crew chief for Paul Menard and the MOOG-equipped No. 27 Chevrolet SS owned by Richard Childress Racing. Twenty different crew chiefs won at least one weekly Problem Solver award.

"Greg had an outstanding first year with Dale Junior and the 88 team, and really demonstrated his mastery of race strategy, particularly during the second half of the season when he won three of his five weekly MOOG awards," said Michael Proud, director of marketing, North America, Federal-Mogul Motorparts. "The fact that we had 20 different weekly winners speaks volumes to the level of competition on pit road during every Cup race. We are pleased to highlight the problem solving excellence of these highly skilled professionals."

Winner of Sunday's weekly MOOG award was Chris Heroy, crew chief for Kyle Larson and the MOOG-equipped No. 42 Target Chevrolet SS, which delivered a race-high 0.122-second improvement over the final 134 laps at Homestead-Miami.

The MOOG brand, celebrating its 50th year of Cup racing, is the preferred choice of professional technicians and NASCAR crew chiefs. In recognition of the vital importance of steering and suspension components in overall vehicle safety and performance, NASCAR now mandates that Cup teams use MOOG Problem Solver parts, specifically ball joints and tie rod ends.

To learn more about MOOG products, please contact your MOOG Steering and Suspension supplier or visit the technician-focused website. Like MOOG on Facebook at and follow the brand on Twitter for product updates and special promotions.

About Federal-Mogul

Federal-Mogul Holdings Corporation (NASDAQ: FDML) is a leading global supplier of products and services to the world's manufacturers and servicers of vehicles and equipment in the automotive, light, medium and heavy-duty commercial, marine, rail, aerospace, power generation and industrial markets. The company's products and services enable improved fuel economy, reduced emissions and enhanced vehicle safety.

Federal-Mogul operates two independent business divisions, each with a chief executive officer reporting to Federal-Mogul's Board of Directors.

Federal-Mogul Motorparts sells and distributes a broad portfolio of products through more than 20 of the world's most recognized brands in the global vehicle aftermarket, while also serving original equipment vehicle manufacturers with products including braking, chassis, wipers and other vehicle components. The company's aftermarket brands include ANCO® wiper blades; Champion® spark plugs, wipers and filters; AE®, Fel-Pro®, FP Diesel®, Goetze®, Glyco®, Nüral®, Payen® and Sealed Power® engine products; MOOG® steering and suspension parts; and Ferodo®, Jurid® and Wagner® brake products.

Federal-Mogul Powertrain designs and manufactures original equipment powertrain components and systems protection products for automotive, heavy-duty, industrial and transport applications.

Federal-Mogul was founded in Detroit in 1899 and maintains its worldwide headquarters in Southfield, Michigan. The company employs nearly 50,000 in 34 countries. For more information, please visit



Drew Shippy (Federal-Mogul Motorparts) - 330.688.3500

Susan Fisher (Federal-Mogul Motorparts) - 248.354.0926

This announcement is distributed by NASDAQ OMX Corporate Solutions on behalf of NASDAQ OMX Corporate Solutions clients.

The issuer of this announcement warrants that they are solely responsible for the content, accuracy and originality of the information contained therein.

Source: Federal-Mogul Corporation via Globenewswire