Press Release

<< Back
Christian Publishers Commit to Delivering Majority of Catalogs to Amazon Kindle Owners by the End of 2008

Top Christian Publishers Adding Thousands More Kindle Books

SEATTLE, Jul 14, 2008 (BUSINESS WIRE) -- Amazon.com, Inc. (NASDAQ:AMZN), today announced that Christian book publishers Augsburg Fortress, Crossway Books & Bibles, David C. Cook, Gospel Light, Group Publishing, NavPress, Strang Communications, Thomas Nelson, Tyndale, Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. and Zondervan have committed to making the majority of their catalogs of books available to Kindle owners by the end of 2008. Anywhere they happen to be, and in less than 60 seconds, Kindle customers will be able to download and start reading favorite Christian titles such as "Boundaries," "Walking With God," and "When the Game Is Over." Kindle is Amazon's portable reader that wirelessly downloads books, blogs, magazines and newspapers to a crisp, high-resolution electronic paper display that looks and reads like real paper. For more information on Kindle, or to order a Kindle for $359, visit http://amazon.com/kindle.

"Of the 135,000 books available on Amazon.com as a physical book and on Kindle, Kindle books already account for over 12 percent of units sold," said Ian Freed, Vice President of Amazon Kindle. "We're pleased that so many publishers are seeing this success with their Kindle titles, and that more publishers like the Christian book publishers are getting on board."

"The response to our Kindle editions has been remarkable," said Alan Huizenga, Director of Digital Publishing at Tyndale House Publishers. "We are excited to know that for readers who own a Kindle, they can download and begin reading bestselling Tyndale authors such as Joel Rosenberg, Tony Dungy, Francine Rivers, and Tommy Newberry in under a minute!"

"For years Eerdmans readers have enjoyed our extensive selection of titles from the scholarly to the popular," said Sam Eerdmans, Vice President of Sales and Marketing for Eerdmans. "Now Eerdmans is excited to announce that many of our titles will be readily available on Kindle. Fans of Eugene Peterson or Joan Chittister can quickly find and access their new books using the extremely easy interface of Kindle."

"Thomas Nelson is excited to offer our books in the digital format on Kindle," said Robert Edington, Vice President of Internet Channel, Thomas Nelson, Inc. "Our readers have enjoyed works by Max Lucado, John Maxwell and Ted Dekker for a long time, and now those who have a Kindle can quickly and easily download them in 60 seconds."

Amazon has increased the number of book titles available on Kindle from 90,000 to 135,000 since Kindle was introduced last November, with more books being added every day. Kindle books are available for wireless download in less than 60 seconds and The New York Times Best Sellers and New Releases are $9.99 or less on Kindle, unless marked otherwise. Dozens of newspapers, magazines and blogs have also been added. Newspaper subscriptions, such as The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal, and magazines, such as TIME and Newsweek, are auto-delivered wirelessly to Kindle overnight so the latest edition is waiting for customers when they wake up. Blogs, such as TechCrunch and All Things D, are updated and downloaded wirelessly throughout the day so Kindle customers can read blogs whenever and wherever they want.

About Amazon.com

Amazon.com, Inc. (NASDAQ:AMZN), a Fortune 500 company based in Seattle, opened on the World Wide Web in July 1995 and today offers Earth's Biggest Selection. Amazon.com, Inc., seeks to be Earth's most customer-centric company, where customers can find and discover anything they might want to buy online, and endeavors to offer its customers the lowest possible prices. Amazon.com and other sellers offer millions of unique new, refurbished and used items in categories such as books, movies, music & games, digital downloads, electronics & computers, home & garden, toys, kids & baby, grocery, apparel, shoes & jewelry, health & beauty, sports & outdoors, and tools, auto & industrial.

Amazon Web Services provides Amazon's developer customers with access to in-the-cloud infrastructure services based on Amazon's own back-end technology platform, which developers can use to enable virtually any type of business. Examples of the services offered by Amazon Web Services are Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), Amazon SimpleDB, Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS), Amazon Flexible Payments Service (Amazon FPS), and Amazon Mechanical Turk.

Amazon and its affiliates operate websites, including www.amazon.com, www.amazon.co.uk, www.amazon.de, www.amazon.co.jp, www.amazon.fr, www.amazon.ca, and the Joyo Amazon websites at www.joyo.cn and www.amazon.cn.

As used herein, "Amazon.com," "we," "our" and similar terms include Amazon.com, Inc., and its subsidiaries, unless the context indicates otherwise.

Amazon Kindle is sold through Amazon Digital Services, Inc.

Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. Actual results may differ significantly from management's expectations. These forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties that include, among others, risks related to competition, management of growth, new products, services and technologies, potential fluctuations in operating results, international expansion, outcomes of legal proceedings and claims, fulfillment center optimization, seasonality, commercial agreements, acquisitions and strategic transactions, foreign exchange rates, system interruption, significant amount of indebtedness, inventory, government regulation and taxation, payments and fraud. More information about factors that potentially could affect Amazon.com's financial results is included in Amazon.com's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including its Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2007, and subsequent filings.

SOURCE: Amazon.com, Inc.

Amazon.com
Media Hotline, 206-266-7180


Contact Amazon PR

For Non-media Inquiries:
Amazon Customer Service
For Kindle Marketing/Brand Inquiries:
Kindle Brand Use Guidelines